You can submit a renewal application for a Florida medical marijuana card up to 45 days before your current card expires. The Florida Department of Health allows renewal applications to be submitted online or by mail. To renew a Florida medical marijuana card by mail, complete the patient application (tick renewal application instead of initial application on the form), and include a passport-style photo, copy of required proof of residency, and check or money order for the applicable fee payable to the Florida Department of Health. Submit the application to:
Office of Medical Marijuana Use
Tampa, FL 33631-3313
Yes, you can renew your Florida medical marijuana card online. To do so, follow these steps:
For more information on renewing your Florida medical marijuana card, see the patient renewal instructions guide on the Office of Medical Marijuana Use website.
Florida medical marijuana cards are valid for one year from the date of approval. The cards' expiration dates are printed on the front of the cards.
In Florida, patients are required to see their qualified physicians for a re-evaluation of their eligibility to use low-THC cannabis to treat their conditions every 210 days. This may also be termed a recertification visit. While the first certification visit must be conducted in person, HB 387, passed by the state legislature in May 2023, permits re-certification examinations to be conducted via telehealth services.
When renewing a patient certification, Florida allows the physician to conduct follow-up examinations on the patient via telehealth services as long as they conducted an in-person physical examination on the patient before issuing the original certification.
Note that in order to qualify to order medical marijuana or low-THC cannabis for patients in Florida, a healthcare provider must have an active, unrestricted license as a physician pursuant to Chapter 458 of the Florida Statutes, or an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459 of the Florida Statutes. Also, a physician employed as a medical director by a dispensing organization is ineligible to approve low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for patients.
Physicians who meet the requirements must also complete a 2-hour course followed by an exam before accessing the Florida Medical Marijuana Use. Successful completion of the program is required each time physicians renew their licenses.
To find physicians who fulfill all the requirements to conduct certification and recertification examinations, check the list of authorized physicians maintained by the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. Alternatively, you may use the OMMU physician search tool to find an approved physician by specialty and location.
The cost of renewing a medical marijuana card in Florida is $75.00. You can complete payment using a check or money order to the Florida Department of Health with your patient identification number on the memo line. If you complete the process online, you will be required to pay an additional $2.75 convenience fee, bringing the total to $77.75. Credit cards, debit cards, and e-checks are acceptable forms of payment for patients renewing their Florida medical marijuana cards online.
Note that there is also a cost to re-certification every 210 days depending on the physician or clinic you visit. While some healthcare providers may charge more and others less, the average cost ranges between $150 and $300.
If your application payment is returned or declined for any reason, an additional $15 service fee will be required to process your application. A returned or declined payment will require you to mail a check or money order made payable to the Florida Department of Health, totaling the original application fee plus the $15 service fee to the OMMU card application processing center.
There are no physical locations to visit to renew your Florida medical marijuana card. The state only accepts renewal submissions sent by mail or submitted online on its medical marijuana use registry.
Florida does not offer medical marijuana reciprocity. The approved Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers in the state only dispense orders to qualified Florida patients and their caregivers as recommended by their qualified physicians.