No. Port Orange prohibits the establishment of recreational cannabis retail stores due to marijuana’s legal status in Florida as a controlled substance.Florida's Drug Abuse Prevention and Control law bans the use and sale of the Scheduled I drug in all its jurisdictions.
Yes. Port Orange permits the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries within its limits. Note that Florida legalized medical marijuana in 2014 and allows its cities and municipalities to allow authorized businesses to establish medical marijuana treatment centers.
Yes. However, only persons approved as medical marijuana patients can order medical cannabis online from Port Orange MMTCs and other MMTCs in the state. Recreational cannabis is not available for sale or delivery.
Port Orange is home to a few medical marijuana treatment centers, as medical marijuana dispensaries are called in the city and Florida. No persons intending to purchase adult-use cannabis may be allowed into any of the dispensaries in the city, as adult-use cannabis sales are illegal statewide. To verify that only approved persons are allowed in, the state requires dispensaries to scan the IDs of visitors. Therefore, expect that a security employee of the dispensing facility will request your Florida medical marijuana card and a government-issued ID at the entrance. You may meet a line at the entrance of the dispensary, depending on whether it is a peak sales period for the dispensary.
Port Orange dispensaries offer visitors a broad range of products and strains, meaning medical marijuana users rarely have to look elsewhere to meet their needs. For first-time visitors, speaking with the attendants at the dispensaries may be helpful in choosing the right medical cannabis product for their conditions. Note that prices may differ from one dispensary to the other; hence you may consider checking through the online menus of the dispensaries before visiting. With purchases monitored across all Florida MMTCs, no visitors will be permitted to buy beyond the stipulated possession limits in the state. Therefore, you cannot buy more than a 70-day supply of non-smokable medical cannabis or a 35-day supply of smokable medical cannabis products.
The marijuana dispensaries operating in Port Orange are required to abide by the following regulations:
Prior to starting operations in Port Orange, dispensaries must obtain licenses and permits from the Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use and the City of Port Orange
No dispensary may sell recreational cannabis
No person may be allowed to purchase medical marijuana without presenting a valid Florida medical marijuana card
Cannabis use may not occur on the site of an MMTC
Marijuana is prohibited for recreational use in Port Orange, and offenders face severe penalties. In accordance with state law, the possession of less than 20 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. Possession of over 20 grams of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Note that the penalties may be harsher for persons caught selling or possessing cannabis with the intent to sell cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other designated areas.
It is illegal to cultivate cannabis in Florida. This action is classified as a third-degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and a $5,000 fine. In cases where the accused has more than 25 cannabis plants in actual or constructive possession, it is a second-degree felony punishable by a maximum 15 years in jail.
Medical marijuana laws in Port Orange are based on the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act and its subsequent update, Amendment 2. While the initial law legalized low-THC cannabis use for Floridians with epilepsy and cancer, Amendment 2 expanded the list of qualifying conditions, meaning more residents may use medical cannabis to treat their conditions. Some of the recent conditions added to the list of qualifying conditions include multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, Crohn’s disease, PTSD, and HIV/AIDS.
The state medical cannabis laws require Port Orange patients with any of the approved conditions to first register with the state and obtain medical marijuana cards from the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) before purchasing medical marijuana from any state-approved MMTC. Patients can then possess up to 35 days' worth of smokable medicinal cannabis and 70 days' worth of non-smokable forms.
Under state cannabis laws, it is unlawful to cultivate cannabis plants at home or use cannabis in public or on federal property. Patients and caregivers are also not permitted to share their medical cannabis with anyone.
Permanent and seasonal residents in the City of Port Orange can get medical marijuana cards. To have legal seasonal resident status in the city, you must live in Port Orange for at least 31 consecutive days every year and maintain a temporary residency in the city. Once you fulfill the residency requirement, you may schedule an appointment with a Florida-licensed physician to obtain a recommendation to use medical marijuana to treat one or more approved conditions.
Note that not all Florida healthcare practitioners can issue recommendations for medical marijuana use. You can find approved healthcare providers using the find a physician tool on the Florida Department of Health website.
Upon appointment with the certified healthcare provider and following the appropriate diagnosis, the physician will submit your personal information and health data for inclusion into the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Then, the OMMU will send you a temporary username and password by email so that you may complete your profile on the registry.
Using the link provided in the email sent by OMMU, you must provide the following:
A completed application form
A passport-style photo
A check or money order of $75 made out to the Florida Department of Health
Alternatively, a paper application may be mailed to:
Office of Medical Marijuana Use
PO Box 31313
Tampa, FL 33631-3313
Note that if you are a minor, you must designate a caregiver to purchase marijuana on your behalf, as well as submit a caregiver application. Use the application instructions guide on the Florida Department of Health website to obtain more information on getting a medical marijuana card. Although medical marijuana cards are usually available quicker than the stated period, it may take up to 4 weeks for your card to be ready for pickup.
There are no legal repercussions for using medical cannabis indoors on a private residence out of public view. However, it is illegal to use medical cannabis in public locations. Persons caught using recreational cannabis in public and private locations also face legal consequences.
If you are a medical cannabis patient registered in the State of Florida, you can visit any of the MMTCs in the city to buy medical cannabis. To find the addresses of Port Orange MMTCs, search online using the term "Port Orange dispensaries near me." Visit the location with a Florida medical marijuana card and a government-issued photo ID. Also, take cash along, as credit cards are not accepted.
Three and one-half grams of cannabis flower sells for about $35, while 1 gram of cannabis concentrate may sell for as much as $75.
Some of the most popular cannabis strains in the city are:
No. Persons caught smoking cannabis, even medical cannabis, in public spaces are liable to face legal repercussions.
Possessing any amount of adult-use cannabis is illegal in Port Orange, while medical cannabis patients registered with the Florida Department of Health are permitted to have a 70-day supply of non-smokable supply of medical cannabis. State law permits a registered patient to possess a 35-day supply of medical cannabis.
You cannot ship cannabis across state lines into Port Orange, but you can move medical cannabis within the permitted possession limits from a Florida municipality into Port Orange.
Some licensed medical marijuana treatment centers in Port Orange and in other Florida locations offer online sales to Florida-registered medical cannabis patients. Hence, if you are registered with the Florida Department of Health, you can order cannabis online in Port Orange.
There are no 24-hour MMTCs in Port Orange.
Tourists are not allowed to use the MMTCs in Port Orange.
Yes, you need to visit a Port Orange MMTC with a government-issued photo ID and a Florida medical marijuana card.
Surterra Wellness is a leading MMTC in Port Orange.
Yes. Port Orange MMTC scans the IDs of its customers.
There are 3 cannabis dispensaries in the City of Port Orange.
Credit cards are not accepted at Port Orange MMTCs.
You can visit all three Port Orange MMTCs in one day, but you cannot buy more cannabis than is permitted under law.
Health insurance may not be used to cover medical marijuana purchases in Port Orange. MMTCs in the city require customers to pay for their purchases with cash.
Yes. Port Orange MMTCs track weed sales and purchases using a stated-approved application.
You can enter a Port Orange MMTC at 18 if you have a Florida-issued medical marijuana card.
Cannabis activities in Port Orange are regulated by the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU). You may contact the Office at:
Department of Health
Office of Medical Marijuana Use
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin M-01
Tallahassee, FL 32399
To report illicit marijuana-related activities in Port Orange, contact the Port Orange Police Department. To contact the city PD, call (386) 506-5870. Also, you may report an illegal cannabis operation by filing a complaint with the Florida OMMU.