Yes. Licensed medical marijuana dispensaries, otherwise known as Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers (MMTCs), operate in Palm Coast, but there are no recreational cannabis dispensaries within the city borders. Currently, only medical cannabis is legal in Florida, Palm Coast's native state. The use, possession, cultivation, and sale of adult-use cannabis are still illegal.
Yes, there are Florida-medical cannabis dispensaries in Palm Coast. In Florida, licensed MMTCs are the only businesses approved to cultivate, process, and dispense medical cannabis and low-THC cannabis. The passage of the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act in 2014 legalized low-THC cannabis in Florida for patients suffering from certain debilitating conditions. The Act created the Florida Department of Health (DOH) Office of Compassionate Use to administer the state's medical cannabis program. However, under the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act, access to low-THC cannabis was restricted to only state-licensed osteopathic and allopathic physicians.
Unhindered access to medical cannabis by qualified patients began following state voters' approval of the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, also known as Amendment 2. The ballot initiative redesignated the Office of Compassionate Use to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) and established MMTCs statewide, including Palm Coast. Currently, there are two Florida-licensed medical cannabis dispensaries in Palm Coast.
Yes, but only registered marijuana patients can buy cannabis from online dispensaries in Palm Coast. Ordering marijuana online in Palm Coast violates Florida marijuana laws, considering that adult-use cannabis has yet to be legalized. Any dispensary offering online cannabis sales in the city will have an "order cannabis online" menu on its website. Generally, purchasing marijuana online in Palm Cost is an excellent way to save time; it also allows consumers to choose from a variety of cannabis product brands and marijuana strains.
A person can only visit a dispensary in Palm Coast to purchase medical cannabis because recreational weed remains banned in Florida. If someone visits a Palm Coast dispensary for the first time, the dispensary will ask them to complete an intake procedure. This process helps the dispensary employees to ascertain that the person is registered under the Florida Marijuana Program.
Cannabis patients must always bring their valid Florida-issued IDs, medical marijuana cards, and either cash or a debit card when visiting a Palm Coast dispensary. Typically, the dispensary employees will guide the patients in picking cannabis products based on the patients' prescriptions.
The Florida Department of Health was authorized by Chapter 381 of Florida Statutes to establish medical marijuana dispensaries in Florida, including Palm Coast. As contained in Florida Statues, dispensary laws in Palm Coast include the following:
It is unlawful for a medical marijuana treatment center to purchase cannabis from or to another MMTC. If they must do so, state law requires that they show evidence of
Florida Department of Health
It is illegal for a medical cannabis dispensary in Palm Coast to sell cannabis products for recreational use
Florida law mandates licensed MMTCs in Palm Coast to only employ persons at least 21 years of age with a clean criminal history
MMTCs may only dispense up to 2.5 ounces of smokable low-THC cannabis to patients within 35 days unless the DOH approves higher amounts for specific reasons. For medical marijuana, they may dispense up to a 70-day supply or a 35-day supply if it is a smokable cannabis
In compliance with Florida marijuana laws, It is illegal to cultivate, sell, purchase, use, or possess marijuana for recreational purposes in Palm Coast. The state punishes cannabis-related offenses with stiff penalties, including payment of fines and incarceration.
Per Chapter 893 of the Florida Statutes, it is illegal for medical marijuana patients in the state, including Palm Coast, to cultivate cannabis at home for personal use. Driving under the influence of marijuana is prohibited. Only Florida-registered medical cannabis patients can buy medical cannabis at licensed MMTCs in Palm Coast. Any marijuana not purchased from a state-licensed medical cannabis dispensary is considered illegal. It is illegal to consume medical cannabis in public or on federal lands in Palm Coast.
The Office of Medical Use (OMMU) provides two means of applying for the Florida medical marijuana card; online and in-mail application methods. To apply for a Florida medical marijuana card, Palm Coast residents should use the Medical Marijuana Use Registry Portal. They must create an account on this portal before proceeding with their applications. The Online Application Instructions and Login Instructional Guide provided by the OMMU is available to assist applicants through the application process. After creating an account, applicants must provide the required information and documents to enable them to submit their applications.
Although the online application method is faster, eligible Palm Coast residents can also apply for a Florida medical marijuana card via mail. They should complete the Patient Application Form and submit it with Proof of Palm Coast residency, a passport photo, and a $75 check or money order to the OMMU at:
Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use
P.O. Box 31313
Tampa, FL 33631-3313
Applicants who wish to use paper applications can use the patient application instructions as a guide.
Per SB 8-A, public consumption of medical cannabis is illegal in Palm Coast and other parts of Florida. The only legal place to consume marijuana in Palm Coast is a private residence.
Registered medical cannabis patients must hold some cash and present their Florida medical marijuana cards to buy cannabis at licensed dispensaries in Palm Coast. Currently, the sale of adult-use cannabis is illegal in Florida, including Palm Coast.
Depending on the type of cannabis products and quality, Palm Coast dispensaries sell an ounce of marijuana at an average cost of $230 to $$295.
Cannabis flower is the most popular type of cannabis product in Florida. The most popular strains sold by Palm Coast dispensaries include Blue dreams, Ice cream gelato, Girl scout cookies, Runtz, Orange kush cake, and Big love.
No, it is unlawful to smoke marijuana in public in Palm Coast. Florida marijuana laws prohibit the public consumption of marijuana by any means, including smoking.
Palm Coast residents may only possess cannabis for medical purposes, which is only available to eligible patients. Florida laws permit registered cannabis patients to possess up to a 70-day marijuana supply in Palm Coast.
No individual or entity can ship cannabis into Palm Coast because federal laws ban transporting marijuana across state lines.
Yes. It is legal to order cannabis online in Palm Coast from a licensed cannabis dispensary for medical use. However, it is unlawful to order cannabis online in the city if it is intended for recreational use.
Although cannabis dispensaries in Palm Coast may deliver medical cannabis for 24 hours daily, Chapter 381 of Florida Statutes prohibits them from dispensing marijuana over the counter for 24 hours every day.
No, tourists cannot use dispensaries in Palm Coast. Florida has yet to legalize recreational cannabis, and only permanent residents registered under the Florida medical marijuana program can access medical cannabis legally.
Yes, Florida cannabis laws require medical cannabis patients to bring their state-issued medical marijuana cards to Palm Coast dispensaries each time they visit.
To determine the best dispensary in Palm Coast, check customer reviews on products and service quality on their website. The city only has a few licensed dispensaries at the moment.
While not mandated by Florida law, cannabis dispensaries in Palm Coast may scan customers' IDs.
Only two Florida-licensed dispensaries operated in Palm Coast as of January 2023.
No. The federal prohibition on marijuana does not permit Palm Coast dispensaries to take credit cards for cannabis sales.
Cannabis patients may visit multiple cannabis dispensaries in one day in Palm Coast. Florida law permits them to possess up to a 70-day marijuana supply at any given time.
No Palm Coast dispensaries take health insurance. Insurance companies are regulated by federal laws, one of which bans marijuana at the federal level.
Yes, in compliance with Florida marijuana law, dispensaries in Palm Coast track how much cannabis a patient buys. This helps licensed dispensaries ensure that no patient has more than a 70-day cannabis supply at any given time.
Qualified patients registered under the Florida medical marijuana program can enter dispensaries in Palm Coast at 18.
The Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) regulates cannabis in Palm Coast. Residents can retrieve OMMU's contact information on the office's website.
The public can report all illegal cannabis activities in Palm Coast to the Flagler County Sheriff's Office at (386) 586-4888 or file such reports with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU).